But baby it’s cold outside


 

 

 

I really can’t stay. But baby it’s cold outside. I’ve got to go way. Whoa, but it’s cold outside. This evening has been, In hopin that you’d drop in, So very nice. I’ll hold your hands, they’re just like ice

kze6mzLsqQzcQlKCwOHopVIC4r50-WQMqKOK-P7_OZjk=w545-h792-no

oh cos it’s…  cold outside.

It is freezing outside! Absolutely FREEZING! Heck even my chickens want nothing to do with coming out of the run or the coop.

b_m3PLCEWc9CpwYy5FNAKjbexr6CoMUmi8-HJDaXxftL=w1370-h352-no

Fresh Eggs? If we can get to them in the 20 minutes it takes them to freeze solid and start to crack.

I admit that I pushed Humpty Dumpty, I let the dogs out, and I am the fool always praying for a blizzard. But I like my cold in the positive numbers and more in the 20s. If it has to be this cold I like snow on the ground. I like a nice warm fire, but we have no fireplace and sitting out in these temps around the fire pit is not an option.

Yesterday we baked in an effort to help keep the house warm.  And boy did we bake!

IMG_20150107_110025

Love the smell of chocolate baking in the morning!

ETIawuFTij2H5yZw3NtPwYKsZ0eU9Lkv33jRiMJJdaWl=w561-h748-no

Some Apple Pie Cupcakes and some chocolate hazelnut cupcakes.

20150107_113817

Some cupcakes for a customer, his company packages and distributes the hazelnut spread that I use.

ChOKRXmhfG2hxomkneb_9LZr9bjMe1HT1_G9BaEX44F4=w606-h748-no

Made my new Valentine’s Day cupcake for kids. It is called a warm fuzzy and it has bubblegum flavored icing and white chocolate.

We even made a natural yeast starter for part of science and math. He also helped me convert a bunch of recipes and learned that 8oz doesn’t always mean a cup!

IMG_20150107_092505

B-man: is yeast a living thing?
Me: Yes, sir!
B-man: I will look it up to see what classification it is in……. it is a fungi! We eat fungi!!!
Me: Afraid so
B-man: Fungi tastes good!!!! We shall call the starter Francis Bobbio
Me: Wonderful

Here is how you start the Natural Yeast Starter: (The numbers are the days)

  1. 5oz organic whole-wheat flour & 5oz water; stir together and ferment overnight at room temp.
  2. 5oz starter from day one, 5oz organic whole-wheat flour, and 5oz water; discard 5oz of the starter add remaining 5oz of starter to the flour and water and mix to incorporate. Ferment overnight at room temp.

I will give you the rest of the instructions tomorrow for day three!

BdUVszTCYAAnrQ5

I found some interesting learning material since most of the nation is stuck in this cold weather pattern.

NOAA has this webpage about changing seasons

KidsHealth has this one on Cold, Ice, and Snow Safety

CalTech has this webpage on a Guide to Snowflakes

USGS has put out this on the Water Cycle

NOAA has a site called SciJinks and has this on Why do we have Seasons?

We found this PDF on how to become a Weather Wizard

NOAA puts out this Winter Storms pdf

NASA has Climate Kids and has good links too

Frozen snowflake patterns

Lego snowflakes

Make a snowflake

If you are suffering through this frigid cold weather might as well make it a hands on learning experience.

Found this quote and this is where I leave you today:

If snowflakes were kisses, I would send you a blizzard!

 

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Shannon

 

3 thoughts on “But baby it’s cold outside

  1. lol That’s not cold. I’m Canadian…now WE’RE cold hahaha
    That’s fall for us 😛
    It was -23 here when I took my son to the bus stop a couple of days ago and it’ll soon get worse. I’ve gotta take up some baking- that sounds like a good idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

