O’Christmas Tree


We have Always done a traditional Christmas tree.  ALWAYS!

2008 tree

2008, our artificial tree.

2009 tree

2009, our same tree.

2010 tree

2010, our first real tree.

2012 tree

2012, another real tree.

The last few years though our trees are not lasting and the are making a horrible mess. I am also highly allergic to them but the family wanted a real tree and I gave it a shot.

Last year I was miserable for a month and every time I touched the tree I broke out in hives. This year we gave the tree thing some heavy thought. We didn’t want to go with a real one and put me through misery. Buying a nice artificial one would cost a couple hundred dollars and money is tight.

What to do what to do?!?

I asked the kids if we HAD to have a tree. The 22-year-old could care less. The Monster Child (11 years old) told me “mom, it is not about the tree”. The one that threw the fit was the 16-year-old Diva Child. She said it would not be Christmas without a tree. I think she is stuck on the materialistic side of this.

We need a tree, but not spend a fortune and make me sick. Our answer…………….. Lowes and Pinterest.

I searched Pinterest and came up with a few idea for nontraditional trees. We narrowed it down to these.

Light Tree

Wall Tree

Tomato Tree

Alternative Tree

We settled on a design (the last one) and went to Lowes to shop.

2014 tree

Everything we needed to make our tree was in this cart. We decided not to do the bottom like he did and had to come up with an alternative. That took up almost an hour at Lowes. Finally we settled on landscaping tubing and sand.

20141122_174022

First we had to cut the tubing to the right size base we wanted. Monster Child helped with the math.

20141122_174605

Next came the sand, did you know that at Lowes the bagged sand is half off? Yep! We filled the tube with sand and moved it around so that it was even.

20141122_174630

That left us with ugliness. How was I suppose to make this pretty?

20141122_174635

A nice roll of gold mesh will do the trick.

20141122_180611

We wrapped it and put our tree skirt under it, to make it feel like a tree according to the kids.

20141122_181825

Next we had to figure out the center of the circle. Once we did this we screwed in a plant hanger hook. From this we hung a small embroidery hoop.

IMG_20141122_183427

Next we screwed in 16 little hooks to string the lights.

IMG_20141122_184917

Then we started stringing the lights, started at the back. We went up through the hoop and back down across to the next small hook and back up to the hoop. It took 12 strand of lights to do this all the way around and another trip to Lowes. I recommend using the smaller strands as you don’t have to try to pull a large strand through the hoop.

IMG_20141122_193120

This is the end of the light part. I know there are two different colors of lights but a few years ago the stopped making the lights in pure white and went to a dim yellowish light. Deal with it.

FB_IMG_1416706609915

Our tree topper has been a bow for a few years and it worked nicely to cover the hoop at the top. It lights up too.

FB_IMG_1417452048724

I felt the tree wasn’t done and went and bought garland.

IMG_20141201_110305

I strung the garland in between the light strands. I like the finished look.

Only thing is that we can’t hang ornaments per say from the tree. I have a  Rubbermaid full of pretty ornaments. What to do?

IMG_20141201_090929

I made a wreath!

IMG_20141201_101509

I couldn’t get the ribbon to work, so I cheated on the bow and hot glued it together.

Peace, Love, & Cupcakes

Shannon

 

 

Leave a Reply

