Homemade Laundry Detergent


Back on March 16, 2014 I made a batch of homemade laundry detergent. It lasted me up until the beginning of July, that is almost a 4 month supply for a family of 5. That is not bad for $6 worth of supplies.

Today I made more, we were totally out and I ran out of the store bought I had bought. I tweaked my recipe from the last time I made it.

Here is the recipe I used:

  • 1 bar Zote laundry soap (others use fels naptha, another brand of laundry soap)
  • 5 cups Super Washing Soda (NOT baking soda)
  • 5 cups Borax

I found that with HE washer using only 1 Zote bar was the best. I also found out that my clothes smell cleaner.

IMG_2361

You grate the Zote bar.

IMG_2359IMG_2358

Mix with other ingredients (super washing soda and borax) and stir to combine.  Store in an airtight container.

IMG_2362

I like mixing mine with my hands, this way I can get rid of clumps and make sure it throughly mixed.

IMG_2365

I wish I knew how big this container is but it works perfectly for one recipe of this.

I use 1 Tablespoon per load.

 

 

Love, Peace, and Cupcakes

Shannon

Leave a Reply

