Smal Victories


Saturday I worked in the backyard for two hours. That is all my husband would allow. I don’t have much to show you because I was totally embarrassed with how it looked before.

IMG_2425

I did manage this, two pots buried for my tomatoes. I added the lattice-work for the tomatoes to go somewhere.

IMG_0843

We cleaned up the area where we put our trash cans. Years of kids not getting things into the trash cans and the raccoons getting into them had made a mark. Now the area is clean and free of debris.

IMG_0844

We even cleaned out the area under the steps. We are going to put a mini deck under there and put an outdoor dog bed there for our dogs to chill out.

IMG_0845

That is part of what we moved out. Oh and we found a family of mice. One child wanted to kill it and the other wanted to keep it. We named it “you don’t live in my backyard” and set it free in the woods. It was just my husband and I cleaning up, the kids didn’t offer to help.

IMG_2434

Sunday found us in this corner of the yard. it was a freaking mess. A raised garden bed that never took off. A garden bed around the deck that next amounted to more than weeds. We had all hands on deck, four of us, for this cleaning project. The hubby and I decided that they didn’t get a choice in the matter. They helped to mess it up, they can help to clean it up.

IMG_2444

This is what it looked like 3 hours later. Amazing what a little teamwork can do. Still want to take down the dish today.

IMG_2446

We moved the raised garden bed and it is almost ready for planting.

10152996_10151901336516710_888223295_n

I even let the 15-year-old girl work a drill! She is better at using a power tool than scissors. Where did I go wrong?

IMG_2447

We also moved some things around. We moved the shutters to behind the rose bushes I planted. We added two stumps to the top of the steps. We are going to get solar lights, drill holes in the tops and have lamp posts.

IMG_2450

I also took down my teacup bird feeders I made last year off the trees. I moved them to the stumps and filled them.

IMG_2464

Today they are empty, because that little guy told EVERYONE there is bird food in the backyard.

IMG_2451

Zen is coming to my garden and backyard!

I am this  point in my life when you realize you need a pain reliever to move from doing yard work the day before.

~Love, Peace, and Cupcakes~

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

