Busy Weekend …….


I had such a busy weekend. I am in this whole cleaning mode and it spilled out into my yard on Friday.

“We will not go quietly into the night!” We will not vanish without a fight! We’re going to live on! We’re going to survive! Today we celebrate our backyard Independence Day!

IMG_2411

We have more than a 1/4 of an acre but less than 1/2. The lot is narrow and has a creek on one side. My property was the neighborhood dumping ground for 30 + years. Habitat for Humanity NEVER did a final grade on the yard or planted grass seed.

Honestly, how hard can it be to use a tiller. Ok, the time has arrived, may the force be with me and may luck be on my side. I will be fighting for our freedom… Not from tyranny, oppression, or persecution… but from annihilation. We are fighting for our right to live. To exist.

TODAY IS MY INDEPENDENCE DAY!

Ok, not totally but I made a great start!

1970640_10151897717601710_262388936_n

I need no supervision, but my male dog (Winston Churchill) thinks he needs to supervise and help. If I am working he is there.

I got to work with the tiller on the hill. It is very hard to love my neighbors when I have to deal with stuff like this.

IMG_2408

It was all going fine until I ran into this. I buried steel cable.

IMG_2409

It broke the shovel! I didn’t like that shovel anyways.

IMG_2410

Finally after an hour of trying and making a 3 foot hole and getting nowhere, I buried the cable.

IMG_2414

I needed a border for the new garden area. Working with what I have and being creative. Just so you know, a chop saw was involved.

IMG_2421

Safety glasses were involved.

IMG_2419

Hammering those little sticks into the ground is not as easy as it seems.  Oh my god that may be the dumbest idea i ever had. I ran out of branches to finish the whole thing, Fart.

IMG_2415

I also had logs that were too big to use. They met a fiery death in the pit of death.

IMG_2418

Winston settled into his foreman role and watched from a comfortable spot on the deck. He is the only one helping me. And half the time he is taking my sticks.

IMG_2422

It one point I thought a toilet would be a good decorating idea. It was broken and it never took off. Time to smash it.

IMG_2423

It felt good. And look what I found… the Tupperware play cups right where the now 10 year boy flushed them!

IMG_0840

I added steps to help get up the hill. I still have to secure them better but they work. They are just pieces of old wood I put into the hill.

This was my Friday, all by myself my children never offered to help. Husband was at work. I did it and I was happy with my results.

It is not even close to being done.

~Love, Peace, and Cupcakes~

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Busy Weekend …….

Leave a Reply

