Productive Weekend


Saturday was a gorgeous day in Missouri! We topped out in the high 70s.

I spent the day in my front garden, clearing away the dead and finding the new.

We didn’t spend any money we just move around what we had.

IMG_2345

IMG_2346

I lifted all the bricks on the pathway side and put dirt back under to get them all level.

After 4 hours this is what I was left with.

IMG_2347

I moved bricks and my two big foot prints. I cut back my hydrangea plant. Replanted mums to the garden.

IMG_2351

I moved a few plants around that were too close. I redid the bricks around the small pond.

IMG_2352

I made this last year and had it in the backyard. I moved it to the front as it needs shade and the backyard gets none.

IMG_2356

My husband even got into the act and moved and fixed out fencing by the creek.

I got into something in the garden that I was allergic to. My hands and arms were swollen and had hives. My fingers are still puffy.

Sunday was not as pretty as Saturday. We had snow! Yep, 70 one day and then 32 and snow the next.

1981901_10151866077796710_845750675_n

Sunday morning I decided that since we are down to the last bottle of laundry detergent, I got cheap with coupons, it was time to make some.

Previously I have tried this and made a liquid detergent , but it was more like gloop. I didn’t like it.

I found this recipe and decided to give it a go. I had everything except the Zote bars.

1 bar Zote laundry soap (others use fels naptha, another brand of laundry soap)
2 1/2 cups Super Washing Soda (not, NOT baking soda)
2  1/2 cups Borax

IMG_2360

You grate the Zote bar.

IMG_2359 IMG_2358

Mix with other ingredients (super washing soda and borax) and stir to combine.  Store in an airtight container.

IMG_2363

IMG_2364

 

 

I made this twice and it fit into this container I had. I use 1 Tablespoon per load.

IMG_2365

I then had time to kill and I knew I had a bunch of old bottles.

IMG_2366

I can only say that I have actually drank three of the bottles I have here. I bake with the rest.

I SWEAR I DON’T HAVE A DRINKING PROBLEM!

IMG_2367

Some Mod Podge in a small cup, a clean bottle, and ripped up paper.

IMG_2369

I hate Dr. Seuss books and chose to kill one of his books.

IMG_2370

You work in sections. Put some Mod Podge on the bottle, put a piece of paper on top, and coat with mod podge again.

IMG_2378

This is what you get in the end.

IMG_2371

I ended up doing 7 of them in all.

IMG_2382

I have 4 Dr Seuss ones I will give as teacher gifts.

IMG_2383

I have 3 that I will use around the house or give as gifts.

IMG_2385

Not I am tired, have mod podged my fingers together, and I am sore.

~Peace. Love, & Cupcakes~

2 thoughts on “Productive Weekend

  1. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues? A small number of my blog readers have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

    Like

Leave a Reply

