Cleaning Day


Cleaning-Day

Day 9 at LWSP is Cleaning Day

I like cleaning on Mondays, makes it feel like the rest of my week is set and I can do other projects. Now my house did not get dirty overnight so it will not get clean over night.

Now a few weeks ago I start with this list and I did a room each day. I have worked up to the point where I can knock out all the rooms in one day.

31-Day-Page-10-Cleaning-Day-Checklist

I have two of these caddys, one for the upstairs and one for the downstairs. It has most everything I need to clean with. I am ready to clean!

2014-03-10 10.23.21

I start with the kitchen and dining room, since they are both the same thing. I then move to the bathroom and spray down the shower and sinks and I walk away. I clean my tubs with  a home-made mix of vinegar and Dawn” IT WORKS GREAT…1/2 cup vinegar bring to boil in microwave, add 1/2 cup dawn, put on spray bottle and spray tub and sink, let soak 30 mins, wipe clean. You need to make sure you have your vent going, the fumes are strong!

I go back and do my living room, I consider my upstairs hall and entry way part of the living room. I have mostly hardwood floors and get the vacuum out at the end and leave it in the kid’s rooms so they get the hint!

I go back to the bathroom and I finish up. I have found a trick that works for keeping toothpaste off the sink. Car Wax!! Polish faucets, sinks, tile, even shower doors with Turtle Wax, which leaves behind a protective barrier against water and soap buildup, so your hard-earned sparkle will last past the next tooth-brushing.

I tackle the deep cleaning things like wash the rugs and I fluff the pillows (or wash them). I am actually allergic to my dogs and I do this once a week to keep the dander down.

Now for the things like. Dust Ceiling Fans and Clean Baseboards, I have commissionable jobs I pay the kids for and those are on that list. This is something we started today. We are doing the Dave Ramsey Financial Peace University and he says kids need to paid for doing things above their normal chores. I decided to pick the things that are time-consuming and easy enough for them to do.

I had this board just doing nothing on the inside of the closet. I remounted it on the outside of the door. It sits in between the younger two kid’s bedroom.

2014-03-10 12.32.12

I made the sign on WordPress, printed it off and laminated it. This has the basic rules on it. You have to do your “Everyday” chores first. Mom and Dad are the “Bosses”. You must get your work checked before you can get your cash!

2014-03-10 12.33.26

I found the help wanted tags here. I printed them off, wrote them out, and laminated them.

2014-03-10 13.59.53

I hung them up with paperclips and the amount each is worth behind it.

2014-03-10 13.59.56

I made the rules and posted them.

2014-03-10 13.45.47

There are additional rules, like you can only do 5 until Thursday. Give both parties and chance to earn extra money. After Thursdays any left money is free game.

2014-03-10 13.59.45

I also found out that since staying home I have had more people trying to sell me things at my door. I found this and laminated it and posted it in my window by the front door.

2014-03-10 14.51.51

My day is done! Have a blessed day everyone!

~Peace, Love, & Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

