Monthly Meal Planning


31days400x400-300x300

Fear not I have not given up on my No-Spend Challenge and I am chugging along. Day three was not as inspiring as my kitchen purge. In fact day three at LWSP is something I do every month. This revolves around monthly meal planning.

Day three is Meal Ideas, I have a whole book full of tried and true budget friendly recipes my family loves. I keep them in a three-ring binder.

IMG_2180IMG_2186

Inside I have it divided into sections; this month’s recipes, breakfast recipes, lunch recipes, dinner recipes, and dessert recipes. I used file folders I got 3 for $1 and hole punch them. Inside the This month’s recipes file folder I have blank grocery lists that I found at Hello Cuteness. This way I can make out a shopping list of thing I need that I may have run out of.

IMG_2179

I spent an hour going through my inventory list and my recipes and finding recipes that I could do with the thing I had on hand.  I got this blank monthly menu template from Hello Cuteness and I laminated it. (I made two) I don’t see it anymore under their freebies. Any blank calendar template will do. I write all the dinner meals down and the recipes are there if I get sick/away they can continue on.

My friend Michelle was worried about how I would survive on eating out of my pantry and trying not to buy. She even commented a few days ago “I was worried about you when you couldn’t buy anything for a month – I feel better now that I see you have a stock pile like that. Good luck with your challenge! Let me know how it goes!”

I have a grocery budget for the month, but it is tight so the less I have to spend the better. I have a budget of $200, of which I have spent $28.11. Once that money is gone, it is gone. I will not dip into other parts to buy food.

I don’t think I will do day four as it is a meal swap and I don’t know anyone who wants to do this close by.

I asked the question to the Living Well Spending Less Facebook page on what everyone does with their inventory lists once they have them completed. I had a few responses and decided this would work best for us.

IMG_2181

I am hanging the clipboard with the list on it in the corresponding pantries.

9 thoughts on “Monthly Meal Planning

  1. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  2. Wow, wonderful weblog layout! How long have you been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog glance easy. The full look of your
    website is excellent, let alone the content material!

    Like

  3. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community
    will be grateful to you.

    Like

  4. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog
    so i came to go back the favor?.I am attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I guess its good enough
    to make use of a few of your ideas!!

    Like

  5. all the time i used to read smaller articles or
    reviews which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading
    at this place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

