Coupons


So, I have been an on again off again couponer. We are a family of 5 and the 20-year-old and 9-year-old boys eat like there is no tomorrow. At the beginning of the year I decided to trying couponing again. But this time I was going to do it a bit different.

I bought myself a small couponing clutch to put my coupons in of Amazon for $4.99.

IMG_0806

 

I had tried the binder and that was a massive failure about 6 months ago. I though tI would try this along with a database in my computer. Yep, I said a database. I don’t want to search through 12 different categories to find the coupon I am looking for. Or to go searching only to remember that I used it last week or that it expired.

I created a database in Excel that has the same categories as my clutch.

Screen Shot 2013-01-28 at 6.46.07 PM

 

This tells me the name of the product, how much the coupon is worth, and an expiration date. Seems tedious but it works for me.

So, I bought my Sunday paper  and Monday morning before work I clipped coupons for about 30 minutes. There were 4 books of coupons Sunday so lots of coupons.

IMG_0805

 

Then last night, I put them into the computer and clutch.

Now comes the part I LOVE!!!! I went through the weekly ads, only Walgreens so far, and I matched up my coupons to the deals they are having.

IMG_0803

 

I can tell you by matching up coupons with deals I am saving a lot of money. Over the weekend we went to three stores and here is the break down of what I saved.

Schnucks-

  • Original total: $24.73
  • Coupons and Savings: $4.30

Walgreens-

  • Original total: $18.09
  • Coupons and Savings: $11.09

Shop ‘n Save-

  • Original total: $31.71
  • Coupons and Savings: $5.55

I saved a total of $20.94! Hey that is 4 days of lattes at Starbucks!

You can find local match up deals at Money Saving Mom. I also find local deals in Missouri at King Size Savings under Store Deals.

Leave a Reply

