Challenge #2 Organizing the Kitchen


New Years Organizing Challenge Banner

 

Ok, So I didn’t win the desk challenge. But I was extremely happy with my progress. Was I disappointed? Yes! Did I think about quitting? Yep! But I am here and while I don’t have a ton of time this week to do things in the kitchen I will tell you what we have done in the last week or so to change our kitchen.

Please remember that I am a pastry chef and my kitchen is my haven. This area has to work for me and no one else.

Untitled (1)

Again, I have a Habitat for Humanity home and so they only give you enough space to live with. We have no dishwasher (no place for one), counter space is limited, and I share the kitchen with my dining area. When we moved in I think I put everything on the counter.

013 (2)

My kitchen went through lots of changes over the last 13 years.

3.24.06 0083.24.06 013

 

First, changed the floor three times. And I should tell you it is going to go through another change later this year to tile. The half wall is something I put in all by myself about 10 years ago. It creates a buffer between the eating and the living part of the house.

016 (3)005 (8)016 (6)

The walls have been an array of colors and design. The dining area is currently what we are staying with. The tile is staying as the backslash but I am painting the strip above the cabinets white in a few weeks.

Back a few months ago I built a rustic island for added storage in my kitchen. I  will post how I did that this weekend.

086

 

Now, on to the projects I have done recently. I recently painted my cabinets on the bottom from the boring golden brown to a gray color. I am painting the top cabinets next weekend, I am a camp cook this weekend. I lined the shelves and drawers with a pretty contact paper. And thank goodness Missouri has weird weather and I had a good day to sand down the doors and paint.

391300_10150911923686710_1662830014_n 376657_10150912440976710_1865218652_n 306704_10150912493341710_2002866318_n005

 

I also took off the outlets last week and added some bling to my covers. I saw this on Pinterest. I added Scothgaurd to these before replacing these to help them last longer.

292498_10150760190356710_1806290976_n

 

Inside my “baking cabinet” I added two strips to hang some of my vital tools of the trade.

015016

 

I also had an Amazon credit from selling back some textbooks and I bought these little spice jars with magnets on them. I forgot I had bought these months ago and found them in a closet I recently cleaned out. I had a thin piece of metal I bought for another project and I had the correct screws to attach it under the counter.

004

 

I also redid the dining area wall a few weeks ago. here are the before and after. Sorry my flash wasn’t up. I hate this Nikon camera.

576334_10151045725601710_175645092_n2013-01-09 10.01.07

 

I added that bookcase to hold all my cookbooks. Yep I have that many, it really is sad. That shelf under the calendar will be getting a makeover soon and it will be stained black and have tiles on them to hold cups so we don’t go through a million cups a day.

009007

Here is my kitchen today as it stand. Yes, I know there are dishes in the sink. Not my job….. waiting for 14 year to home from school.

2013-01-09 10.01.15

 

This is the last image I will leave you with. I got this quote last summer and kept it until I found the perfect place for it. It is one of my favorite quotes by Dr. Seuss. It is our family motto and we live by it. The bag is supposed to be there, we put our recyclable there.

I promise to have blog post this weekend on these projects.

 

9 thoughts on “Challenge #2 Organizing the Kitchen

  1. Usually I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very great post.

    Like

  2. Hi there I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

    Like

  3. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been
    blogging for? you make blogging look easy.
    The overall look of your website is magnificent, let alone
    the content!

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Kitchen Purge | My Squirrel World

Leave a Reply

