New Year’s Organizing Revolution: Challenge #1 – Office/Desk Area


I am doing a challenge over at Organizing Made Fun and this week is the Office/Desk area. You can find out more by following the link. You can also see more pictures of my challenge at Pinterest by going here.

New Years Organizing Challenge Banner

We have a small home, 1600 sq feet in total. We fit 5 souls in this house, we make things work. We don’t have an “office”, heck I don’t even have a master on-suite, but I have a corner of my living room that has a desk. It is not really a desk either, but we use it as a desk. A few years ago I worked for Pottery Barn and got things at a great price! This was a sideboard table that I bought scratch and dent and then got my discount on top of that. It works well for what we need.

107

This was a unique challenge for me since the day before I took this photo we took down the tree, cleaned the desk off, and moved back to the corner of the room. Usually this desk is a dumping ground and not for me, it is all my husband. I have a laptop and rarely use the desk, except to blog and do bills. But here is what it looks like on a typical day.

114

Here is the one and only drawer and sometimes to open or shut it requires a magic trick in itself.

111

The papers run over and our bills are out there for all our friends and family to see, wonderful!

108

So, I took the challenge and got sidetracked along the way. I started this on New Year’s Eve morning and went downstairs to get the bulletin board and then decided I needed to totally rearrange my bedroom. That is a whole other blog post in itself. I finished this desk challenge last night, New Year’s Day.

Now this being January and I am on a no spending challenge, I needed it to be a project where I spent no money. Everything that I do for this challenge and the other challenges needs to be from items that are around my house. CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

First, I cleaned out the drawer completely. Then I went on a search for something to put in the drawer to organize it. Being a baker I go through 5 dozen eggs in a week easily! I have all these crate/cardboard egg holders laying in my basement for random projects or till my husband finds them and recycles them. I thought this would be the perfect size for one side of the desk to trap all the little floaters that swim around in the desk drawer.

126

As you can see I have rubber bands, coins, staples, paperclips, thumb tacks, finger nail clippers, batteries, stamps, chap-stick  USB thumb drives, glue stick, micro mini cards, and stylus pens in this system and they are all easy to find now and they don’t move around the drawer.

In my drawer I also decided to keep only things that would be needed in this area, extra cords for DS game systems and random other things would have to find a new home. I have my note cards, stapler, 3-hole punch, post-it notes, external hard drive, and misc office supplies all put away nicely in the drawer. I have a few cords that I kept in a small black bag with a pull cord to close it. That box has pencils in it since those are a rare thing in our house, I keep them well guarded.

125Photo Jan 01, 8 43 07 PM

Next, I worked on the desk top itself. We had this three slot organizer that was never organized. NEVER! What is the point than? So, I changed some things up. A few days ago I made my home management binders (I will post that blog tomorrow) and I have 4 of them all together.

Binder one- is strictly for my father-in-law. He recently lost his wife, who took care of everything and has left him and my husband in a foggy haze about bills and important papers. I have all his important information at the tip of my fingers now. Binder two- has our family calendar, cleaning, menu planning, to-do lists, contacts, and holiday traditions. Things to help an outsider or my husband run the house, if something was to happen to me. Binder three- has a section for each member of the house and all their important info, car information, pet information, home inventory items (DVD, book, and items with serial numbers), and home maintenance items. Binder four- is for the budget and bills. I put current bills in here, along with any coupon payment books we have. I have moved the bills from the unorganized organizer to the 4 handy-dandy binders.

Photo Jan 01, 8 42 13 PM

As for the three slot organizer, I have put my red blog notebook in the back, empty envelopes in the center and address labels (in an envelope) and out going mail in the front slot. This makes this work for us a whole lot better.

132

The last thing I tackled was the wall/corner wall in the desk area. Some time ago and on another blog I can no longer access, I wrote a blog post about a Pinterest project I found and made. I found the original pin that you can find here on how to make this bulletin board.

135

I added these little post it notes, I forgot I bought months ago at the dollar area at Target.

Photo Jan 01, 8 41 29 PM

I hung my Le Cordon Bleu medal in the corner. It means a lot to me and my family, that I earned that medal and it was a hard-fought road to travel. It hangs there to remind us all that the outcome is well worth the rocky road you must travel to get there.

I also moved around two shelves and used some Command strips to hang a dry erase board that was doing nothing on my fridge. to the small wall. The lower shelf current holds my camera and a Chewbacca doll, don’t ask! I was using the camera, that is why it is not on the shelf.

136

The last thing I did was to add a few small nick-knacks that have special meaning to us as a family to the shelf above the computer. Ganesha, he is popularly worshiped as a remover of obstacles, though traditionally he also places obstacles in the path of those who need to be checked.We can all use a little help removing obstacles so that is why he sits there.

Photo Jan 01, 8 44 41 PM

So this is what my desk looks like now…….

Photo Jan 01, 8 41 59 PM

10 thoughts on “New Year’s Organizing Revolution: Challenge #1 – Office/Desk Area

  1. I really like your pretty bulletin board. Thanks for all of the thrifty ideas on organization. It really is encouraging to know there are other people trying to be careful with their money, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

