Recipe #1


As I sit here blogging about this, my first recipe is in the oven baking. My original recipe called for a pound and a half of butter and it wasn’t in my refrigerator or budget. So I flipped a few more pages and there it was….. my first recipe. Wondering what it was? Oh ok, but first where I got it.

Sometime ago I bought this book………………

and I never opened it. It sat in a cabinet, out of sight, and out of mind! Than I watched this wonderful movie Julie & Julia. Had a wonderful idea to put my own spin on it. Instead of making a recipe out of the Julia Child cookbook I am simply going to try a new recipe each and everyday, I hope!

So my first recipe was Spiced Raisin Biscotti, yeah I started with biscotti! Like I’ve said before I am crazy! I am sure there is some sort of copyright law that prohibits me from posting it here. But I forward it on in an email to anyone interested. The ingredients are simple and easy, it is the cutting that is going to be tricky. I am not the best with directions! I am learning though.

Here is the basics of the recipe.

The three large eggs I needed!

I made this version! Let me say I want to try to orange cranberry ones, oh another recipe to try!

This is what it looks like after you mix all the ingredients. You mix with your hands to finish it.

Than you flour your work space and your hands, very well. Half you batter and roll out one half into 12″ log and place on your cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat. Than do the same for the other half.

You bake at 300 degrees for 50 minutes. Than you let cool for 5 minutes and then slice diagonally  and cut into strips, and put back on parchment paper, and bake at 275 degrees for 25 minutes than let cool and eat.

Here is my finished product. Biscotti can be stored in an airtight container for about a month. This has 49 calories per biscotti!

I found my recipe for tomorrow too! Come back tomorrow and see my Wine Biscuit with Cracked Black Pepper!!

One thought on “Recipe #1

Leave a Reply

